Mother’s Day Recap

Happy Mother’s Day! A few weeks late but I still wish it all to you!

I love Mother’s Day. I suppose I loved it growing up, as much as you can understand it really, but giving my mom extra attention, cards and love was always fun. But now, as a mom, I love Mother’s Day. It makes me feel so proud and happy and pampered and loved. I love a day to celebrate Moms and to celebrate all we do – all I do – as a mom. It’s a beautiful thing.

“Most of all the other beautiful things in life come by twos and threes by dozens and hundreds. Plenty of roses, stars, sunsets, rainbows, brothers, and sisters, aunts and cousins, but only one mother in the whole world.

– Kate Douglas Wiggin

Mother’s Day is not without its sadness now, for me.  Now more than I ever I want to be able to call up my mom and wish her a happy Mother’s Day, now that I know personally what this is like. I want to pamper my mom and do her nails and cook for her and take her for a drive and plant some flowers with her. I want to cherish her.

“People who live well ultimately die well too. By this I mean, they leave people who know how strong the love exchanged is, and they know that it remains. When you take the time to show others that they matter to you and live life large, you become a person whom others learn from. Others then look at their own life and remember to make it count.”   -Allison DuBois

My friend texted me yesterday morning, “Happy Mother’s Day! You make Baby Pip and Big Mom smile everyday. Have a magical day.” It was a perfect way to start off my perfect day. It made me realize how I can cherish my mom with my actions, and in my own mothering. It made me realize I can and do make her happy with my choices and the love and attention I give to my daughter. In honoring myself, and in honoring my daughter, I honor my mother.

And it was a perfect day. After a week+ of rains, the sun was shining this weekend. Yesterday was warm and sunny, my flowers and veggies were happy and blooming.

I woke to this face, beside me, smiling her just-woken-sleep-in-love smile at me. My very favorite smile on earth.

A Good Morning indeed

When we got up, I was ushered into the living room to find a new bird bath waiting for me! I’ve been wanting one for my yard, and hubby and Pip picked out this gorgeous one. The birds are going to love it, and I am going to love watching them splash around in it (instead of in the puddle on the street!)

Splish Splash

After breakfast I was cordially invited to the Daddy and Pip Day Spa, where I entered the bedroom-turned-oasis, with low lighting and relaxing music was on. I was given time to relax with an eye pillow, then received a nice massage. My feet and hands were lotionized and slipped in gloves and socks. Mmmm!

We went outside after breakfast, where we swung on the swings and splashed in the water table.  The bird feeder was put in its place of honor. The front lawn was cut and gutters cleaned (not by me!).

One of the very few reasons I had any respect for my mother when I was thirteen was because she would reach into the sink with her bare hands – bare hands – and pick up that lethal gunk and drop it into the garbage.  To top that,  I saw her reach into the wet garbage bag and fish around in there looking for a lost teaspoon.  Bare hands – a kind of mad courage.   ~Robert Fulghum

My sister arrived for a special visit. She hugged and laughed with Pip, admired our veggies and chatted. We made brunch, my favorite waffles and fruit salad.

Pip napped… I wrote! Sunshine streamed in the window, warm air kissed my flowers and veggies outside… What a beautiful time!

After nap time the fun continued with a trip to the beach! The weather was lovely, and although we wouldn’t be swimming in the cold Atlantic just yet, there was plenty of splashing around.

Pip loves the ocean. It takes my breath away to watch her there. She will stand still, watching the water rushing up around her feet, calves, knees, and then look up towards the horizon and whisper under her breath with a look of amazement on her face, “Ocean!”  It’s one of my favorite places on Earth, too, so her affinity for it touches me deeply.

Then Daddy and Pip took me to one of the best clam shacks around, where we had fish and chips and grilled cheese, yum yum!

All in all, it was a perfect day. My husband’s the best. He and Pip really know how to spoil me! :) Hope you all felt the love on that special day too.

Mother's Day

Mother’s Day Collage

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

