NaBloPoMo

That title sounds like a noise Pip makes while chattering away at the kitchen table. :) In actuality it’s for the National Blog Posting Month which I am nervously going to participate in, already wondering when I’ll find the time to post every day for one month! But I have taken part in other writing months like that, doing a 100-word story each day one year and kinda started NaNoWriMo once.. heh… and I know it can be such a rewarding experience.

So what the heck, right? I want to teach Pip to be fearless so I might as well start, myself! And I’ve started writing again privately so I might as well amp up the word count by participating in NaBloPoMo.

NaBloPoMo posts a prompts each day to help writers get started, but I think today I’ll just write on how I do struggle with this blog. I think that is partly because I struggle with what my goal is here.  Sometimes I want this to be a place to share my adventures with Pip with my friends and family. Other times I want to have a voice to join in the online parenting community who seek to learn from each other – kinda like a global village. Other times I want to post my wishes and advice for Pip herself.  And since those are three different goals I have trouble knowing what “audience” to write to. (And I say “audience” because I probably only get like five readers here, four of whom I email daily LOL.) But sometimes I feel like some things are private, while other things I want to shout about on top of my (little) (island) mountain.

I guess it comes down to, is this blog for me, or for Pip? Well in the end it has to be for me, first and foremost. She could never read this. The internet could implode before she gets old enough. She could care less! She could have me on speed dial so that she never needs to read words I wrote ages ago.  ;) So it has to be for me.  And even though I want to participate in the aforementioned global community, I don’t feel I can tell anyone else what to do, because the right thing can be different for different people. So I will post for myself, for sharing my story. And those interested can read it. And maybe one of those interested people will be Pip. Maybe not… either way, it’s fine.

It’s for me… like all writing is, in the end.

___________________________

NaBloPoMo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaBloPoMo

  1. Jennifer says:

    Yay, more writing from you for a whole month! 1/5 of your readership (haha) applauds!!!

  2. Lisa says:

    I will be reading! I check in every day. ;-)

Leave a Reply

