Catching Leaves

I almost named this blog “Catching Leaves” because of a beautiful moment my mom had with my sister when she was younger. It was fall, and they were outside. The leaves were turning, the air was crisp and it was a beautiful, sunny day. They were playing, and the leaves were falling from the large maple tree in the backyard. My mom caught some leaves as they fell and held them up to my sister. “Do you see these leaves, Laura?” she said to her daughter, serious and excited. “These leaves are the luckiest leaves, because we caught them. Out of all the leaves in the world, we caught these leaves.”

I am so lucky that I caught my mom, that I got to be her daughter for the first 29 years of my life on earth. Out of all the moms in the world, she caught me. :)

It’s with that love and happiness that I greet autumn with Pip. I think of “catching leaves” every time we are outside, and when we catch leaves I tell her about Nona, who did it first.

Pip Catching Leaves               

This post was inspired by Debbie at Rainbows Within Reach, who is doing an Autumn link up and wrote a truly beautiful post Autumn-4-Mommy Linkie with stunning foliage pictures for her mom. Her words and close relationship with her mom brought tears to my eyes.  I like to think my mommy is reading my blog too- more than that- living and experiencing each day, each moment with me and Pip… maybe in new and wonderful ways she never could if she were alive.

As for Pip and I, we play in the autumn yard by picking up the leaves… one by one… sour apple green, flaming red, burnt orange, dried brown ones that are barely a stem with a flake of leaf left.

Pip doesn’t know that the red is “better” than the brown one… she doesn’t know that the green one with caterpillar holes in it “should” be passed over… she treats each one with interest and excitement. She puts them all in her pumpkin basket, which she slings on her arm like a purse as we walk. Some leaves she even crumples tight in her tiny fist, holding first to them, and then my finger. She teaches me to not be so judgmental, to just be present. All this without saying a word…although we are working on “leaf.” :)

 

Check out the Autumn-4-Mommy Linkie to read other posts in this blog hop!

This entry was posted in Everyday stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Catching Leaves

  1. Laura Murgo says:

    love <3

  2. We’ve never met. I’m the grand-ma, your the mommy teaching a new word…… yet the cyber-world cloud (or perhaps an angel) brought us together. I’m in complete admiration of the depth of your sharing. I’m struck with the profound insight in your post and it’s leaf catching.

    Thank you so much for sharing. Your new friend,
    Debbie
    RainbowsWithinReach

    • Hi Debbie,
      Thank you so much for your kind words..and for the catalyst for this post in the first place!
      I thought I appreciated my mom before I became a mom..now as a mom myself, that appreciation and awe for her multiplied exponentially!
      :) Carrie

Leave a Reply

