Just Post It Update

Between travel, changing positions at work, researching vaccinations and enjoying September, I’ve been super busy and haven’t had time to post. When I do have time, I often get overwhelmed all up in my head with writing a post, the topic, what to write about yada yada yada. So I’m challenging myself to “just post it” – to write a stream-of-consciousness post on everything.

Pip is doing excellent, as usual, which I’m very thankful for. Her vocabulary is continuing to amaze and enthrall me, and I love hearing and seeing all the new words and things she’s learning. We went to the library the other day and took out a couple books, one on a choo choo train and we’ve been whistling around the house nonstop.

During the recent Harvest moon Pip, hubby and I went for a walk around the block (yes, she actually walked between us, holding our hands!) and she promptly fell in love with the moon. The next day she interviewed everyone in the doctor’s office to find out where the moon was. Every morning since then she’s woken up to ask for the moon. This past weekend when we went for a drive she spent the first fifteen minutes leaning to the side, staring out the window and keeping her eye on the moon and saying “moon, me!”

If anyone has any good “moon” books for kids, let me know! We’d love to read them. I’ve been thinking about printing off a sweet kids picture of the moon too for us to talk about at home.

I see the moon and the moon sees me

Speaking of home, our garden is doing great! Our tomatoes are ripening every day, and Pip just loves to eat them right from the garden. The other day I brought one inside to wash it first, but put it in a bag on the floor and forgot about it… next thing I know I hear her saying “um um um, potato” (haha she can’t say the T yet) and there she is, eating the entire thing like it’s sugar.

Tomato Sauce

Overall the garden’s done allright.. I knew it would be an experiment this first year especially. I don’t think it got enough sun once the trees were in full-leaf overhead, but it did OK. We only got two peppers and two cucumbers (from two plants each) and the eggplant is just now growing out of the flower. The herbs have been excellent, though, and I’m still keeping my eye on the bocce-sized watermelon that’s growing/living there lol.

We did have a morning glory bloom the other day!! I had planted some along the side of the house in April, but my husband was overeager with the weed whacker and they bit the dust early in the summer. But they are back!! And now growing and climbing and we had our first brilliant purple bloom… this photo doesn’t do it justice. I think morning glories may be my favorite of all the flowers. <3

Our trip to England was wonderful. We’re so lucky to be taken care of so well when we visit our family there. It’s very special to all of us to be able to see everyone, all our friends and family. Even though we were there for just a week, we jammed in a LOT and never felt rushed. We managed two trips to the sea, a BBQ, a night out, golf and shopping and lots and lots of cuddles and catch-up.  Caroline loves her older cousins and they love her, too. She did amazing traveling- sleeping on the planes, playing on the train, people watching any time she was awake. It went far better than we could have anticipated (I credit breastfeeding for helping make it so smooth)!

Daddy and Pip, before take off

That’s about it for now – hopefully it won’t be as long next time!

This entry was posted in Everyday stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Post It Update

  1. Julie says:

    Papa, Get the Moon for Me by Eric Carle. Such a great book! You must have Goodnight, Moon, no?

  2. Good thinking- you got us that Papa Moon book! And yes, I pulled out Goodnight Moon this morning, it was a big hit! :)

  3. Lisa says:

    Kitten’s First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes. Read it today, several times in a row!!!

Leave a Reply

