Starting My Garden

In the dead of the winter, under 24+ inches of snow, my friend and I started planning for our summer gardens. We checked out books from the library, shared ideas, mapped our beds, got carried away making my favorite color-coded spreadsheets, and we waited. And waited. The winter did not want to let us out of its icy grip. I raked one day only to watch the lawn get covered in snow the next.

But finally, Spring has sprung and my father in law built me two beautiful square foot garden boxes. Last week Pip and I shopped around for compost, vermiculite and peat moss, and over the weekend I mixed it all together like a mad baker in the back yard, working on a tarp and in my old maternity clothes.

As I mixed the soil and filled the beds, watered them down and then started to lay out the strings to denote the square feet, I realized how good it felt to garden again. My siblings and I all took turns working for minimum wage for our grandmother in her large back yard garden over the summers. I hadn’t gardened in a while, though, since I lived in the city for a while after college. But now, having room to garden was not only one of my New Year’s Resolutions, it was one of the reasons my husband and I wanted a house with a yard.

I got turned onto Square Foot Gardening, which basically is a raised bed garden where you plant by the square foot as opposed to the rows. This allows you to plant a lot more in a lot less space!

SFG - Spring

I’m planning on planting:

  • Snap Peas
  • Lettuce
  • Kale
  • Onion
  • Parsley
  • Beets
  • Carrots
  • Cucumbers
  • Basil
  • Peppers
  • Mint
  • Leeks
  • Celery
  • Potatoes
  • Brocolli
  • Chives
  • Eggplant
  • Spinach
  • Tomatoes
  • Garlic

And of course… kid-sized Sunflowers! :)

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Starting My Garden

  1. Pingback: The Tradition of Gardening | lovenotesmama

  2. Pingback: My Semi-Crunchy Life | lovenotesmama

Leave a Reply

